About us


We are a christian protestant church and are part of the World Communion of Reformed Churches made up of over 100m members.


We are situated on Palace Road, Kirkwall opposite St. Magnus Cathedral. Post code KW15 1PA

I agree


Minister - Revd Susan Kirkbride, MTh, Bsc, on 01856 761829.

Hall hire. Please enquire via contact form below or phone Ray on 01856 873888

Any other enquiry - use this form:

A brief history
Kirkwall Congregational Church was established in 1806 after a mission by Dr Haidane. The first church was established somewhere about the head of Laing Street. The second, built during the ministry of Rev G Robertson, was at the Bridge, in the building we know as Leonards. This was owned by Mr George Leonard news agent and bookseller.

In 1823 a fresh site was obtained in Mill Street.The church was built on the site, where later a Temperance hall and theatre would stand. It was built at a cost of £515, 14s, 2d. After fifty three years such heavy repairs were necessary, that it was decided to build a new church in Palace Road. This new church was opened 19 November 1876 practically free from debt and has been in continual use to this day.

Ministers of Peedie Kirk

Rev David Ramsav 1807
Rev George Robertson 1814-1834
Rev Thomas Smith McKean 1838
Rev D Webster 1842-1847
Rev George Smith 1847-1852
Rev James McNaughton 1852-1859
Rev W N Chalice 1868-1870
Rev Alexander Smith MA 1870-1872
Rev Alexander Pirie 1873-1883
Rev J Hodge 1883-1885
Rev J Blair 1886-1889
Rev Kenneth McKenzie 1890-1892
Rev J W Chalmers 1893-1894
Rev George Garrard 1896
Rev Robert Rigg 1905-1912
Rev David Foulis 1912-1914

Rev John L Edmonston 1914-1915
Rev E J Sanderson 1915-1919
Rev G C Thomson 1920-1923
Rev Alfred Wilson 1924-1928
Rev J R McCorkingdale 1929-1937
Rev J W Morley 1938-1947
Rev J R McCorkingdale 1948-1955
Rev T B Gordon 1956-1964
Rev Leonard Sykes 1964-1969
Rev Dr. Joyce Collie MA Ph.D 1973-1980
Pastor James MaCrae 1980-1994
Student Minister Fiona Bennett 1995-1996
Pastor John W Muir 1996-2006
Rev John W Muir 2006-2013
Rev Susan Kirkbride MTh. 2016 -